Community discussions

MikroTik App

jfh
just joined
Topic Author

VLAN filtering blocks DHCP Client on trunk port

Fri Apr 12, 2024 4:42 pm

Hello all,
This is my first post, there I said it. And I am relatively new to the Mikrotik products although I've been reading up quite a bit on these forums and documentation as well a few well done videos.

My setup wanted is as follows :
Trunk port on port 1 which has access to the rest of my network
MGT VLAN is 1000 and I will require access to multiple VLAN which I plan on configuring the access ports to match depending on the tests required.
My MGT VLAN will give me a DHCP lease on my Bridge-LAN interface but as soon I as activate VLAN filtering it stops and falls in searching...
I've left out port 8 from the BridgeLAN puposefully to avoid getting locked out...

Any guidance this groupe can offer would be greatly appreciated...

Update : I am successfully able to switch rapidly by simply changing the /interface bridge port pvid section... I've updated my config below... unfortunately I still have issues with when activating the vlan-filtering (which is required for my access ports to get an IP), the DHCP client looses its IP and can no longer access the router through the trunk management interface.

Here is part of the config which I believe is relevant :
Product is : RB5009UG+S+
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF auto-mac=no ingress-filtering=no name=Bridge-LAN pvid=1000 vlan-filtering=yes

/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] comment="WAN Port" name=ether1_WAN
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] comment="Labo Port"
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] comment="Labo Port"
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] comment="Labo Port" disabled=yes
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] comment="Labo Port" disabled=yes
set [ find default-name=ether6 ] comment="Labo Port" disabled=yes
set [ find default-name=ether7 ] comment="Labo Port" disabled=yes